Uplifting and comical…a look at my life, motherhood and the circus that goes with it

judging quote

I hope we get to a certain point in our lives when we start accepting people for who they are. (Right now, I’m not there…just categorizing myself in the “we” )We can’t change it. They can’t change us. Therefore; we are either in it to win it…or out for the count. There is no bargaining, like Mexican marketplaces. People can’t just become someone that we want them to be….and in fact, often times will become even further the opposite of what we want them to be…so at what point do we stop telling people who they should be.

But we don’t. We still go around judging and telling others how they should run their life or what they choose is wrong, when really it is just wrong for ourselves. Why does it matter? Who cares what someone else bought, said or preaches? Does it really affect how we live our own lives? Only if we let it become our lives….. as we forget who we were before it. Stupid.

So instead of rejecting the people that we so call “judge” in our lives, we do the opposite. We “try” (with emphasis on TRY) to accept them for their good qualities, but still relishing in the bad, leaving behind false pretenses for friendships or relationships. We cannot see the good in people if we are constantly discussing the bad; therefore, if we cannot see past it, we should leave it behind us like Rainbow Brite in 1986.

Be true, be you…and engage in a little self therapy from time to time.

Comments on: "Live and Let Live…(but we will still talk about it)" (3)

  1. Hey Leah…good stuff. I think Moms can be the worst at this too. I am guilty as well. Recently I tried to be that mom who used cloth diapers. I went out bought a crap load of reusable diapers, and as soon as my bathroom started to smell like a third world country I went to target and bought some huggies! In this day and age when we can post about everything thing we do, and brag until our heads explode, I think we should put down the phone or the Ipad and just relish in the moment, the glorious moment that will pass and does not need to be recorded just enjoyed.

    Like

    • You are so right Hannah. I shut off Facebook for two days and I was a paralyzed that I had lost all contact with everyone! But…it definately gave me a few moments to realize that possible not everyone cares about me going to Target or buying a coffee and perhaps, like you say, documenting my life (although nice to look back on)…Absolutely prevents me from enjoying what is right in front of me…and I believe that is exactly the same as when we get caught up in critical viewpoints of others instead of looking in the mirror to worry about our own mistakes. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  2. Excellent! It is a lesson to be learned!

    Like

Leave a comment! I'd love to see what you think!

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Tales from the Mommy Trenches

The life of a former attorney turned SAHM

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

momaste

the mom in me bows to the mom in you

So Here's Us...

life on the raggedy edge.

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

A Walk on the Wild Side

For those who love addicts

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

mommytrainingwheels

Ramblings of a sleep-deprived mother

