Uplifting and comical…a look at my life, motherhood and the circus that goes with it

Image

Definition of fake

1.Prepare,or make (something specious, deceptive, or fraudulent): to fake a report showing nonexistentprofits.

2. to conceal the defects of or make appear more attractive, interesting, valuable, etc., usually in order to deceive: The story was faked a bit to make it more sensational.

3.to pretend; simulate: to fake illness.

4.to accomplish by trial and error or by improvising: I don’t know the job, but I can fake it.

5.to trick or deceive (an opponent) by making a fake (often followed by out  ): The running back faked out the defender with a deft move and scored.

What is real and what is fake is how I have been living my life these days. Whether it be people in general, opinions, appearance, behavior or just the sense that something is not quite right for whatever reason…..it’s becoming a guessing game just like what my kids want to eat for dinner. And forget about not knowing who these people are…I am not so sure they know who they are either.

In between the lady at Chic Fil A, wearing ImageProm hair at 10:30am with Image..bright pink lipstick and the lady who bought my old house last year that didn’t have money for closing costs, but had a Louis Vuitton bag at closing. (thanks so much for that by the way), it becomes trivial. Is it insecurity or is it because people want to one up someone else like its an Olympic hairstyle competition. Who cares, right? Will this matter when we are dead and our children remember us for our extra teasing that we did for 3 hours? Here, I’ll answer that for you…no.

Here I am sounding harsh and hypocritical I am to blame as well. Just because I announce that I sometimes wear clip in hair extensions (to sound real), doesn’t take away the fact that I am being fake by wearing them…. because for some reason I think that 20 extra tiny strands of hair is going to make all the difference in my life….because it doesn’t ….however, my insecurity convinces me it does.

And really if someone doesn’t like me because I have 20 less strands of hair, than what do they matter to me anyway. Isn’t that what we tell our children? To be individuals? To not worry about being perfect skinny or perfect anything, but to be happy with who they are? So , what kind of message are we presenting to them if we are doing the exact opposite by wearing boob inserts in our bras. We’ve lost track of what matters…seriously, and I, admittedly have as well at times.

And it’s sad that the moments that fix our confused ideology of importance are when we’ve lost someone close to us or when there is a personal issue that is taking over every aspect of our life, not allowing us to sleep at night. But…when the days pass, and the personal issue is gone or has been healed, so is being humble and we get right back to putting fake daggers on our hands known as fingernails (which I love by the way),…for what? We can’t open anything easier. We become a 3 month old baby swatting at our faces because they keep poking us in places we never meant them to, like they need their own set of whiskers to gauge personal space so application of eyeliner doesn’t result in one lost eyeball.

The “yessers”…the ones that will agree with everything that you say to belong to something…to feel accepted. The ones who are afraid to “let the words fall out” and express what’s really on their mind, only to turn around and feel something completely different and express it then to someone else at the cost of a friendship. Understandably, seeing their fear because of those who are the “blunts” who are criticized for stating something of an opposite opinion, who become falsely accused of being critical or offensive. Aren’t these the ones who should be rewarded for vocalizing a real feeling and not one of falseness? They aren’t.

“Say it my face, not behind my back,” those on the opposite end say, but when it comes down to it, they can’t handle it, because they can’t handle their own issues. Walking around in a fake world is walking around with a blindfold preventing you to see your capabilities, your goals, limits and what you expect from others around you. You will always live in a moment that is not yours, just like your hair extensions.

Remember that what you have and what you look like do not define you. That if you really want someone to understand who you are…”say what you want to say and let the words fall out,” and do it with confidence because if the person can’t respect that you are different than them, then let them deal with the people that laugh at them when they go to Chic Fil A with prom hair. Unless of course, the joke is on us …because we are so insecure to not accept it. Food for thought. Because judging another is a reflection of judgment on ourselves…do you agree?

#BETRUEBEYOU

 

Courtesy: Quoted lyrics from “Sara Bareilles, Brave”.

 

 

Leave a comment! I'd love to see what you think!

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Tales from the Mommy Trenches

The life of a former attorney turned SAHM

Ben's Bitter Blog

"We make bitter better."

momaste

the mom in me bows to the mom in you

So Here's Us...

life on the raggedy edge.

My thoughts on a page.

Living, Laughing, Loving, Loathing.

A Walk on the Wild Side

For those who love addicts

Honey Did you See That?

I retired at 50 something, returned to North America and began blogging. All posts are 100% true, except when they're not funny enough, or when I can't remember the details. Menopause is heartless. Huge thanks to my comic book writing son, Matt, my Header designer.

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

mommytrainingwheels

Ramblings of a sleep-deprived mother

